The New York Press Club is an association of and for working journalists and media professionals. The club is a private, non-profit organization and is not affiliated with any government office or agency and does not advocate or participate in any political activity.


The New York Press Club is a professional organization of members and former members of the news media. It devotes its efforts to meeting the needs and interests of professional journalists and those in related fields, as well as providing public service to the community.

The club was founded more than 100 years ago, reorganizing in July of 1948 as the New York Newspaper Reporters Association. Today, its membership includes professionals from all types of news organizations including the Web, television, radio, wire services, daily newspapers, weekly and monthly publications, as well as professionals from the fields of communications, public relations and public affairs.

Mission Statement

The New York Press Club works to protect the rights of all reporters while providing networking opportunities for journalists and communications specialists to discuss professional issues and affect change.

Lectures, panel discussions, ‘newsmaker’ appearances and other NYPC-sponsored functions have covered such topics as threats to freedom of the press, the various threats to investigative reporting, the relationship between the media and government, the role of community newspapers, foreign press coverage of the city of New York and questions about how the press covers itself.

The annual New York Press Club Journalism Awards are a long-standing tradition in New York media, honoring excellence in journalism by writers and reporters who are recognized as being among the best in their fields. The Awards and Installation Dinner, at which the year’s awards are formally presented is a highlight on many social calendars.

Our annual Journalism Conference, traditionally staged in conjunction with a local university, has long been recognized as the premier event of its kind in metro New York. In addition to numerous conference tracks and break-outs that feature respected working journalists and academics, the conference offers other elements of useful interest to all ranks: students, journeymen and women and grizzled veterans.

The opportunities, professional and otherwise, of membership in the New York Press Club are boundless, regulated only by the enthusiasm and energy of individual members.

Officers, Governors, and Trustees:



Jane Tillman Irving

WCBS Newsradio 880 (Retired)

1st Vice President

Debra Toppeta


2nd Vice President

Stephanie Forshee

Agenda, A Financial Times Publication


Stephani Shelton

Freelance Journalist CNBC

Corresponding Secretary

David Cruz

Norwood News


Debra Caruso Marrone

DJC Communications

Beth Karas


Winnie Hu

The New York Times

Conor Skelding


Mitch Lebe

1010 WINS

Philip O’Brien

Con Edison

Steve Scott

WCBS Newsradio 880

Carol Tanjutco


Gabriela Gutierrez

Student Representative


Joe Connolly

WCBS Newsradio 880

Mark Lieberman

Past President

Jerry Schmetterer

Past President

Larry Seary

Past President

Public Relations

Debra J. Caruso


Staton Rabin


John R. Lieberman


Rabbi Joseph Potasnik


Fr. Matthew F. Malone, S.J.


View Past Presidents

In Memoriam

Peter O. E. Bekker

The New York Press Club is indebted to Peter O. E. Bekker, former administrator, techie-in-residence, creator of its first website, and good friend. Our new website has been underwritten by Fred Bekker in memory of his brother’s enduring legacy.


An underwriter of Press Club’s Awards for Journalism ceremony and our Foundation’s annual Holiday Party for charity. Con Edison Inc. has been supplying the energy that powers New York for more than 180 years.

Click to learn more

Automattic is proud to sponsor the 26th Annual Conference on Journalism. We are passionate about making the web a better place. All around the world; building a new web, and a New workplace.

Join us. Automattic.com.

Shutterstock is proud to be a sponsor of the plenary at the 26th Annual Conference on Journalism. Access the latest editorial images at Shutterstock with over 40 million news, sports, entertainment, and archival photos.