The New York Press Club, Inc.
1324 Lexington Avenue (Box 190)
New York NY 10128-1145


Larry Seary
Send email to Larry
1st Vice President
Steve Scott
WCBS Newsradio 880
2nd Vice President
Jane Tillman Irving
WCBS Newsradio 880
Joe Connolly
The Wall Street Journal
Stephani Shelton
The Fred Group
Corresponding Secretary
Elizabeth Semrai
Financial Secretary
Beth Karas


Winnie Hu
The New York Times
Rich Lamb
WCBS Newsradio 880
Mitch Lebe
27/7 News Source
Phil O'Brien
Gabe Pressman
Larry Sutton
OK! Magazine
Debra Toppeta


Mark Lieberman
Past President
John Mulligan
Past President
Tom Poster
Past President
Jerry Schmetterer
Past President
Deborah Wetzel
Past President
Consulting Director
Peter O.E. Bekker
Events Chairman
Mitch Lebe
Public Relations
Debra J. Caruso
Jack Dobosh
Farrell Farrell Burke
Fr. Matthew F. Malone, S.J.
Rabbi Joseph Potasnik

New York Press Club Scholarships

Administered by the New York Press Club Foundation, Inc.

  • Overview
  • How to Apply
  • Donate
  • Winners
Applications for 2013 have closed. Watch this space for news of the application window for 2014.

New York Press Club Foundation journalism scholarships are awarded at least annually. Two $1,000 scholarships will be awarded at this year's New York Press Club Foundation Conference on Journalism on Saturday, October 5th, at NYU.

DONATIONS TO OUR SCHOLARSHIP FUND ARE WELCOMED. Individual donations can be made by clicking "Donate" above. We would be delighted to discuss endowed scholarships with interested individuals and organizations.
These rules may change prior to the next round of awards. New York Press Club Foundation scholarships are intended to be general purpose and are awarded based upon aptitude and accomplishment as determined by a New York Press Club committee of professional journalists.

Requirements for applicants:
  • Must be a Student Member in good standing of the New York Press Club.
  • Must be matriculated in a graduate or undergraduate journalism program at an accredited school.
  • Must fully complete and submit the online application by a date to be announced.
  • Must provide at least one example of journalistic accomplishment (see application form).
  • Must attend the Foundation's journalism conference to receive the award.
Questions may be directed to the scholarship committee by email.
Donations to our scholarship fund are welcomed. The New York Press Club Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation and dontations are tax dedictuble to the extent allowed.

All funds received by the fund will be awarded as scholarships to journalism students. The fund does not use any scholarship money for administrative purposes or for any purpose other than scholarship awards.

If you would like to sponsor a distinct award (in an amount of $2,500 or greater) please contact the Press Club.

2013 Scholarship Winners:

Rachael Levy
CUNY Graduate School of Journalism ('14)

Kori Eslie Tuitt
Stony Brook University ('15)

2012 Inaugural Scholarship Winners:

Fausto Giovanny Pinto
CUNY Graduate School of Journalism ('13)

Jie Jenny Zou
Columbia Journalism Digital Media ('13)
Toni Stabile Investigative Fellow

Scholarship Application

This form will be re-activated when a new
round of scholarships is announced.

Most fields required:

School Information:


Accomplishment (Provide at least one):


CAPTCHA Image Reload Image



ConEd ad
An underwriter of the Press Club's Awards for Journalism ceremony and our Foundation's annual Holiday Party for charity, Con Edison Inc. has been supplying the energy that powers New York for more than 180 years. Click to learn more.
NY Life
The New York Life Insurance Company is a multi-year sponsor of the New York Press Club Foundation Journalism Conference. To enter the New York Life newsroom, click here.

Meet a Member

Liz Willen
Liz Willen
Editor of The Hechinger Report

An award-winning education reporter and longtime Press Club member, Liz is editor of the nonprofit, education-news organization The Hechinger Report. More in Meet a Member.

The Constant Columnist

Beatrice Williams-Rude
"Stuck With de Bill" (Review)

The 2014 charity roast by the inestimable Inner Circle had a tall order this year, lampooning newly arrived New York City mayor, Bill de Blasio. More in The Constant Columnist.