The New York Press Club, Inc.
1324 Lexington Avenue (Box 190)
New York NY 10128-1145


Jane Tillman Irving
WCBS Newsradio 880 (Retired)
1st Vice President
Beth Karas
2nd Vice President
Debra Toppeta
Stephani Shelton
Freelance Journalist CNBC
Grace Wong
Freelance Journalist
Corresponding Secretary
David Cruz
Norwood News


Debra Caruso Marrone
DJC Communications
Stephanie Forshee
Agenda, A Financial Times Publication
Winnie Hu
The New York Times
Rich Lamb
WCBS Newsradio 880
Mitch Lebe
1010 WINS
Philip O’Brien
Steve Scott
WCBS Newsradio 880
Carol Tanjutco


Joe Connolly
WCBS Newsradio 880
Mark Lieberman
Past President
Jerry Schmetterer
Past President
Larry Seary
Past President
Carl Leibowitz
Public Relations
Debra J. Caruso
Staton Rabin
John R. Lieberman
Farrell Farrell Burke
Fr. Matthew F. Malone, S.J.
Rabbi Joseph Potasnik

About The New York Press Club

  • About
  • History
  • Mission
  • Past Presidents

The New York Press Club is an association of and for working journalists and media professionals. The club is a private, non-profit organization and is not affiliated with any government office or agency and does not advocate or participate in any political activity.

The New York Press Club is a professional organization of members and former members of the news media. It devotes its efforts to meeting the needs and interests of professional journalists and those in related fields, as well as providing public service to the community.

The club was founded in July of 1948 as the New York Newspaper Reporters Association. Today, its membership includes professionals from all types of news organizations including the Web, television, radio, wire services, daily newspapers, weekly and monthly publications, as well as professionals from the fields of communications, public relations and public affairs.

The New York Press Club works to protect the rights of all reporters while providing networking opportunities for journalists and communications specialists to discuss professional issues and affect change.

Lectures, panel discussions, 'newsmaker' appearances and other NYPC-sponsored functions have covered such topics as threats to freedom of the press, the various threats to investigative reporting, the relationship between the media and government, the role of community newspapers, foreign press coverage of the city of New York and questions about how the press covers itself. The club also sponsors debates - open to all members and broadcast live - among mayoral, congressional and gubernatorial candidates.

The NYPC's Freedom of the Press Committee provides assistance and support to journalists faced with legal problems such as the failure to divulge confidential news sources, or, being barred from a court hearing. Additionally, the club maintains a liaison with various government agencies whose actions directly affect working journalists in such matters as the issuing of Working Press credentials.

The annual New York Press Club Journalism Awards are a long-standing tradition in New York media, honoring excellence in journalism by writers and reporters who are recognized as being among the best in their fields. The Awards and Installation Dinner, at which the year's awards are formally presented is a highlight on many social calendars.

Our annual Journalism Conference, traditionally staged in conjunction with a local university, has long been recognized as the premier event of its kind in metro New York. In addition to numerous conference tracks and break-outs that feature respected working journalists and academics, the conference offers other elements of useful interest to all ranks: students, journeymen and women and grizzled veterans.

The opportunites, professional and otherwise, of membership in the New York Press Club are boundless, regulated only by the enthusiasm and energy of individual members.

1948William J. KeeganNew York Post
1949Anthony MarinoNew York Daily News
1950Alfred E ClarkNew York Times
1951Joseph EndlerNew York Herald Tribune
1952Rodney "Budd" StahlNew York Mirror
1953Frank EngleFairchild Publications
1954Syd LivingstonNew York Journal American
1955Raymond DoyleAmerican Weekly
1956James RitchieAssociated Press
1957Arthur RosenfeldNew York Post
1958James C O'ConnorNew York Mirror
1959Thomas D ZumboUPI
1960Edward KirkmanNew York Daily News
1961James AntoneFairchild Publications
1962Harry SingerNew York Mirror
1963Robert MindlinLong Island Press
1964Charles GrutznerNew York Times
1965Harold PhelanWorld-Telegram and Sun
1966George DourisLong Island Star-Journal
1967Gus EngelmanWABC-AM
1968-69Thomas PosterNew York Post
1970John San AntonioLong Island Press
1971-72John ShanahanAssociated Press
1973Pati DavisUPI
1973-74John MulliganAssociated Press
1975-76Patrick MuldowneyWABC-TV
1977Joe BraggWHN
1978-79Vincent LeeNew York Daily News
1980-81Mark LiebermanNew York Daily News
1982-83Len BuderNew York Times
1984Jerry SchmettererCNN
1985-86Marcia KramerNew York Daily News
1987Mitch LebeWYNY
1988Larry SuttonNew York Daily News
1989-90Larry CelonaNew York Daily News
1991-92Harry RyttenbergWNBC
1993-94Phil O'BrienNY1 News
1995-96Deborah WetzelWCBS-FM
1997-00Gabe PressmanWNBC
2001-03Carol Ann RiddelWNBC
2004-2006Rich LambWCBS 880
2007-2009Stephannia CleatonStaten Island Advance
2010-2012Glenn SchuckMetro Networks
2013-2015Larry SearyWNBC (retired)
2016-Steve ScottWCBS Newsradio 880


ConEd ad
An underwriter of the Press Club's Awards for Journalism ceremony and our Foundation's annual Holiday Party for charity, Con Edison Inc. has been supplying the energy that powers New York for more than 180 years. Click to learn more.
Automattic is proud to sponsor the 26th Annual Conference on Journalism. We are passionate about making the web a better place. All around the world; building a new web, and a New workplace. Join us.

Meet a Member

Wendy Patrick
Wendy L. Patrick, JD, PhD
Prosecutor, Author, Columnist, Media Commentator

2014 Public Lawyer of the Year by the California State Bar. More in Meet a Member.

Member News

Podcast series by Carole Zimmer already winning awards.

Now What? is a podcast about big life decisions, transitions, how to re-invent yourself, inspiration and how we wind up navigating all those curves in road. More in Member News.

The Constant Columnist

Vicky Llerena
Why Latinos Can't Dump Trump.

Says Vicky, "Let’s set the record straight: Trump is by no means a threat to the Latino community." More in The Constant Columnist.